Friday, December 6, 2013

Interview with Rosemary Harris

Rosemary Harris has been a bookstore manager, a video producer and a public television exec. Her debut novel, the Agatha and Anthony-nominated, Pushing Up Daisies, was followed by The Big Dirt Nap, Dead Head and Slugfest, all titles in her Dirty Business mystery series.  She is past president of Mystery Writers of America's NY Chapter and Sisters in Crime's New England Chapter. Like some of the characters in The Bitches of Brooklyn she was born in Brooklyn but now lives in New York City and Fairfield County, Connecticut.

Q. What inspired the plot for your novel, The Bitches of Brooklyn?

Three years ago some friends and I had an all-girls weekend and one of our pals didn't show up. Happily, she didn't run off with one of our men, but over wine we speculated on where she really was. Working overtime as it happened, but I decided to give her a more adventurous weekend!

Q. Which of the four friends do you feel that you can relate to the most? 

Of course, I think there's a little bit of me in each of the women but, if I had to choose, I'd say Tina Ruggiero. She's Italian, a writer, and she has a smart mouth. (I've been accused of the same.) She's a good friend too. The kind who will buy you a drink and then hold your hair back if you need to, um...ride the porcelain bus. Maybe I just want to be like her.

Q. At what age did you realize writing was something you wanted to pursue?

Not until quite late in life. About eight years ago, I read a two line item in the New York Times about a mummified body that had been found in a nearby town. Much like Paula Holliday, the amateur sleuth I went on to create, I did a little snooping and wound up having a telephone interview with one of the doctors who had assisted in the autopsy. He told me two things that the NYTimes didn't print. I thought it would make a good story and that was the inspiration for my first book, Pushing Up Daisies.

Q. Describe your writing ritual.

I'm not one of those start at 8am and write until 2pm gals. Sometimes I wish I were. I write whenever and wherever. I've written in a tent and on a ferry to Zanzibar. When I start a new book, I generally go to an office supply store and buy 10 new pencils. Don't laugh. A friend did that for me when I told him I was writing my first book and it's become my ritual. I do write a chapter at a time, in pencil on a (must be) yellow legal pad, then I enter on the computer. Writing longhand slows me down, in a good way. Unlike other writers, I have less to cut in the rewrites.

Q. What are your writing goals for the rest of 2013?

I had started a historical novel earlier this year - and I'm loving the pace and the research. But I've gotten such a good response to the Bitches of Brooklyn that I've decided to write a sequel. A little more mystery in this one than there is in Bitches.

Q. What is your favorite thing to munch on while writing?

Right now it's the 100 calorie packs of wasabi edamame. So good. And I need to watch the calories!

Q. What book(s) are you currently reading?

The Woman Who Lost Her Soul by Bob Shacochis and Songs of Willow Frost by Jamie Ford, the author of Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet, one of my fave books in recent years.

Q. If The Bitches of Brooklyn were a movie, who would you like to see play the main characters?

I could answer this question differently any time I was asked depending on what I've seen lately. It also depends on whether you read the characters as early thirties or late thirties (I never say in the book.)  Today's answers -
Amy Adams
Zooey Deschanel
Kate Hudson
Emily Blunt
Drew Barrymore

They're all such good actresses they could probably play any of the women, but as a group they would make a fun gang of Bitches.

Q. What can your fans expect next?

There will be an official trade paperback release of my fourth Dirty Business mystery in February, and fingers crossed, the sequel to Bitches should be out in June.

Q. What advice do you have for aspiring authors?

Never compare yourself to anyone else - either their writing or their success. Each of us has to write the stories we want to write. I'm not saying "just write the best book possible" - which I've always found to be kind of, "duh" advice. But, read a lot. Write a lot. For your own sake, don't put work out there before its time. And try to have fun - in between the frustrations.


To learn more about Rosemary and all of her books visit her at www.rosemaryharris.com and Like her on facebook at www.facebook.com/RosemaryHarriswriter

Trade paperback and ebook available at Amazon and bn.com now!

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00E3XMPN0

http://tinyurl.com/kydqs39

From the author of the Anthony and Agatha-nominated Pushing Up Daisies and Dead Head.

Are they really bitches? That depends who you ask...four friends await the arrival of a fifth at a secluded Cape Cod bungalow where they spend an all-girls weekend every summer. But this year the fifth woman doesn't show. Instead she sends a note that reads -  "I've run off with one of your men."

Has she? Is it a prank? Do they run for the phone or try to enjoy the weekend without her? Fun, flirty and filled with Harris' trademark snappy dialogue and quirky characters forced to reevaluate their marriages, their friendships and their memories, The Bitches of Brooklyn has been called "a cross between Pretty Little Liars and Sex in the City."

Inspired by a classic Hollywood film, The Bitches of Brooklyn will appeal to readers of Jennifer Weiner, Cathleen Schine and Susan Isaacs and is for every woman who's ever had a best friend and wondered...is she really??

"Rosemary Harris is a GEM of a writer." Joanne Fluke, NYTimes best-selling author of the Hannah Swenson series. "Smart, sassy and sophisticated, The Bitches of Brooklyn may be the best female buddy book yet. I dare you to put it down." Elaine Viets, best-selling author of The Dead End Job series and Catnapped!

Want to read an excerpt?  Click here http://rosemaryharris.com/bitchesofbrooklyn_excerpt.html


a Rafflecopter giveaway

1 comment:

Samantha March said...

Thanks for being in the tour !